2015 Grand National Guide 

Crabbie's Fox Hunters Chase

Crabbie's Fox Hunters Steeple Chase (Class 2) (2m5, 1/2f)

The first race of the Aintree Festival that is run on the Grand National course is the Fox Hunter Chase on the opening day of the meeting. It’s always a terrific spectacle and although it’s not a graded race it is without doubt the race that captures the imagination of the public each year.

The race was first run back in 1923 and used to be over the full National course but was reduced in distance in 1949 to encourage more runners to take part. In 1999 the race was moved to the first day of the meeting and has kept it’s place ever since. The race is always run at a fast pace and being confined to amateur riders this led to many early fallers, in an attempt to solve the problem the distance to the first fence was reduced in 2001 by half a furlong. To this day the race attracts a maximum field and along with the Cheltenham Fox Hunters race is the highlight of the amateur riders season.


Previous Winners

2002 Torduff Express P.Nicholls P.Gundry 8/1
2003 Divet Hill A.Hamilton D.Jewett 11/2
2004 Forest Gunner R.Ford C.Ford 13/2
2005 Katarino R.Waley-Cohen S.Waley-Cohen 10/3 f
2006 Katarino R.Waley-Cohen S.Waley-Cohen 11/2
2007 Scots Grey N.Henderson R.Burton 9/2
2008 Christy Beamish P.Jones J.Guerriero 6/1
2009 Trust Fund R.Barber T.Greenhall 13/2
2010 Silver Adonis R.Newland T.Weston 50/1
2011 Baby Run N.Twiston-Davies W.Twiston-Davies 3/1f
2012 Cloudy Lane D.McCain R.Harding 4/1jf
2013 Tartan Snow S.Coltherd J.Hamilton 100/1
2014 Warne Mr S Waley-Cohen B.R. Hamilton 7/2f
2015 On The Fringe N.Carberry E.Bolger 5/2f




Register at Bet365



Latest News

All Latest News


Follow Us on Twitter
AintreeGrandNational.net supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.