2015 Grand National Guide 

History Of The Grand National

The Grand National is run at Aintree racecourse over 30 fences over a distance of 4m 856yds and has been held since 1839; there is some debate as to whether to include the three races run nearby from 1836 in the archives but as yet these races are not officially classed as Grand National’s.

The founder of the race was William Lynn and later a more influential figure in Edward Topham took over control and turned the race into a handicap in 1843 and has changed little since that day.

The first winner of the race was a horse called Lottery and since then we have witnessed many dramatic moments during The Grand National including probably the most well known horse to ever win the race in the shape of Red Rum, the only horse to win the race three times in the 1970’s.

This is the timeline which covers some of the most important dates in the history of the race;

1839: The first race is run at Aintree and a horse called Lottery wins at 5/1

1843: The National is run as a handicap for the first time.

1847: A horse called Matthew becomes the first Irish trained winner of the race.

1897: Manifesto runs for the 8th time in the race and wins it for the second time.

1916: Aintree was closed for 3 years during the War and a similar race was staged at Gatwick.

1927: The National is covered by BBC Radio for the first time.

1928: 41 of the 42 starters fell leaving Tipperary Tim to finish alone, one other horse did remount later.

1934: Golden Miller wins the National and The Cheltenham Gold Cup in the same year.

1947: Caughoo wins the National but is accused of only completing one lap in a fog bound Aintree.

1956: Devon Loch owned by the Queen Mother is clear after the last fence only to jump a path and lose the race in the dying strides to ESB.

1967: Foinavon wins the National at 100/1 after a pile up at the 23rd fence, now known as the Foinavon fence.

1977: Red Rum wins the race for the third time.

1979: Rubstic becomes the first Scottish trained winner of the race.

1981: Aldaniti wins for Bob Champion who had fought off Cancer to ride in this race.

1982: Dick Francis becomes the oldest Jockey to win the race at the age of 48

1982: Geraldine Rees is the first female jockey to complete the National course on Cheers.

1983: Corbiere wins the race and Jenny Pitman is the first female trainer to win the National.

1984: Seagram became the first sponsors of the Grand National.

1987: Jim Joel at the age of 92 becomes the oldest owner to win the race with Maori Venture.

1992: Martell took over the sponsorship of the race.

1993: The race is declared void after a false start, Esha Ness past the post in front.

1997: A Bomb Hoax causes the National to be abandoned and re-run on the Monday which was won by Lord Gyllene.

2001: Only two horses put in clear rounds as Red Marauder beats Smarty in awful condtions.

2005: John Smith’s the brewers took over the sponsorship of the race.

2009: Mon Mome at 100/1 is the highest priced winner since Foinavon in 1967.

2010: Tony McCoy wins the National on Don’t Push It, his 15th attempt to win the race.

Register at Bet365



Latest News

All Latest News


Follow Us on Twitter
AintreeGrandNational.net supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.