2015 Grand National Guide 

Liverpool Hurdle

The Liverpool Hurdle (Grade 1) (3m 1/2f)

The Liverpool Hurdle was first run in 1974 but interestingly was not part of the Aintree Festival and took place at Ascot racecourse under the name of The Long Distance Hurdle. It was switched to Aintree as late as 2004 and renamed to its present title and eventually was given grade 1 status in 2010 due to the World Hurdle runners from Cheltenham coming here and increasing the quality of the race. Since its promotion Big Bucks has landed this race three times and a total of four victories in all and is now a race that captures the imagination of the public and attracts the best staying hurdlers in the game.

In 2013 the race was switched to take place on the last day of the Festival, effectively swapping places with the Aintree Hurdle, which is now on the opening day.  The committee agreed that the more important Aintree Hurdle was being overshadowed by the Grand National on the Saturday and deserved to take centre stage in its own right. In 2014, Whipser was given a brilliant ride by Barry Geraghty to win the race for Nicky Henderson and the horse followed up in 2015.

Last change:


Please Refresh if Odds Table Doesn't Appear

Previous Winners

2002 Spendid 10 Warren Marston Alan King 2/1jf
2003 Deano's Beeno 11 Tony McCoy Martin Pipe 5/4f
2004 Iris's Gift 7 Barry Geraghty Jonjo O'Neill 4/7f
2005 Monet's Garden 7 Tony Dobbin Nicky Richards 11/2
2006 Mighty Man 6 Richard Johnson Henry Daly 11/4
2007 Mighty Man 7 Richard Johnson Henry Daly 15/8
2008 Blazing Bailey 6 Robert Thornton Alan King 5/1
2009 Big Buck's 6 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 5/6f
2010 Big Buck's 7 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 3/10f
2011 Big Buck's 8 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 4/6f
2012 Big Buck's 9 Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 2/9f
2013 Solwhit 9 Paul Carberry Charles Byrnes 9/4f
2014 Whisper 6 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson 4/1
2015 Whisper 7 Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson 5/1








Register at Bet365



Latest News

All Latest News


Follow Us on Twitter
AintreeGrandNational.net supports responsible gambling. For more information visit GamCare, Gamble Aware and Gamblers Anonymous. Over 18's only.